Coot on it’s nest


Coot on it's nest 1 Coot on it's nest 2

It had been a long time that I didn’t visit the ReedCorner (de Riethoek) , a small nature area surrounded by the highly populated neighbourhoods of Amsterdam SouthEast (The Netherlands) – But on Easter Sunday, although the sun was hiding behind the clouds again, I thought it was time to have a walk… and I definitely wasn’t disappointed.

I enjoyed seeing and photographing several water birds, of which some were already nesting – and lots of little flowering herbs… the first messengers that spring truly is on its way! 🙂

This Eurasian Coot clearly is already breeding… soon we’ll be able to see her ugly but eccentric young scavenging the sides of our ditches and ponds, and mom will have her hands full keeping an eye on them… For now, she still can enjoy the quiet for a little while… 🙂

Did you already see any nesting birds in your neighbourhood?

4 comments

  1. I was just watching North American Coot yesterday, but I’ll never see them nest because they only migrate through my area. But at least I got to see yours nest. 🙂 And so nicely photographed.

    Like

    1. oh, really? Are the North American Coots very similar to the Eurasian ones? I don’t think the Eurasian ones are migrating – at least we see them all through the year here. Thanks for your visit and comment, Deb! I see you have great wildlife photography too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

