ROC student kneading dough

Young people in vocational training, skilful and motivated.


Deze blog post in het Nederlands (link)

Yesterday I was in Leiden, a small historic town in the Netherlands. I wanted to make a photo-reportage about the International Photo Festival in Leiden – which I did – but then happened to walk into a totally different event.

On one of the church squares where the displays with photo’s were set up, a large crowd of people had gathered before the entrance of the church. I wondered what was going on, saw a lady with a camera who was obviously a press photographer or reporter, and asked her whether she could tell me more. She told me that in half an hour, the official opening would take place of a two- day info market, in which vocational training schools would present themselves to young potential students, who will soon have to make their choice for a vocational training next year. That sounded quite interesting to me, so I decided to stay around and make a photo-reportage about this event as well.

The total story and a selection of the photo’s I made on the vocational training info-market you can find here on Demotix. I really loved to see how young people who are already in vocational training were eager to demonstrate their skills, and share about it with others.

There were a few more images that just didn’t make it into my Demotix story any more, but I like to show them here:

ROC student kneading dough

ROC student kneading dough

Building on a wooden construction

Building on a wooden construction

Group of boys show interest in metal instrument parts

Group of boys show interest in metal instrument parts

Paramedics training: first aid can save lives...

Paramedics training: first aid can save lives…

Leave a Reply

